Attend the tale of Sweeney Todd...

Discussing all things Ravenloft
Manofevil
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

Attend the tale of Sweeney Todd...

Post by Manofevil »

...His skin was pale and his eye was odd!
He shaved the faces of gentlemen-
who never thereafter were heard of again
Did Sweeney..
Did Sweeney Todd-
The demon barber of Fleet Street!

Here's a Ravenloft tale in all but name.. and from a very unusual source- a Broadway Musical. If there's anyone here who's heard of this I'll be very surprised. Written by the great composer, Stephen Sondheim, It's originally based on a victorian 'penny dreadful', a published 19th century periodical. The story goes like this:

Anthony Hope, a merchant sailor, pulls an unfortunate man, Sweeney Todd, from the sea on a voyage to London, a place he's never been before. Todd, it turns out, is a former prisoner who has served his sentence in Austrailia and was shipwrecked on his way home to London. Todd is a barber by trade. When the ship docks in London, Todd tells Hope his story. Years earlier, when Todd was a young man not long married and newly a father, he was a simple hard-working barber plying his trade on Fleet Street in London. His clientelle was mostly gentlemen, one of whom was a judge who mentioned that he might have a job for Todd's wife. With foolish naivite, Todd's wife goes to the Judge's house one night to inquire about the job. She walks into the middle of a very strange party filled with questionable high-class people. It wasn't an open orgy so she wasn't frightened away immediately. This didn't stop both the Judge and his henchman, a Beadle, from raping her when she met with them, however.