RAVENLOFT vs. VAMPIRE: THE MASQUERADE

Discussing all roleplaying games
MadStepDad
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

RAVENLOFT vs. VAMPIRE: THE MASQUERADE

Post by MadStepDad »

I’m a loyal soldier. It’s part of my nature.

I’ve always preferred one over another for sometimes no other rational explanation other than “I liked it first”. Marvel Comics over DC. WWE over WCW. One thing that has defined D&D for me since I was knee high was TSR. To me, TSR WAS D&D. There was nothing else.

I think that’s another one of the main reasons that drew us all to RAVENLOFT in the first place. RAVENLOFT as a realm draws on all levels of existence in the TSR multiverse. Like a Marvel Comics crossover adventure. Guys from Dragonlance, Birthright, Darksun, Forgotten Realms, Kara Tur – all made appearances in RAVENLOFT. Kids stuff. Dark, gothic horror – but kids stuff in the vein of all TSR releases.

For years now, my Q-Monstah has been hounding me about VAMPIRE: The Masquerade. He’s showered me with books in the past and begged me to look into it more. I’ve always overlooked it because, well… I loved RAVENLOFT first. But now – with my attempts at a d20 Modern/RAVENLOFT/MASQUE of the RED DEATH millennium version – I’ve taken a new interest in their product. I’m dropping y’all a note here cuz I’m curious to know what’s your take on the whole V:TM genre.

I’ve only known stereotypes and cheap clichés – they’re all emo whiners, gothic wannabes, L.A.R.Pers and serial killers (seriously – read that one at True Crime.com). It also seems to dabble more in modern times than medieval times. The rules are lame too, but the fluff is top notch. Far darker (and dare I say “more mature”) than our hardest RAVENLOFT products. The main difference I see between the two though could be summarized by the blurb that appears at the end of VAN RICHTEN’s GUIDE to VAMPIRES under “Why Not PC Vampires?”