Adamantine, Darkwood, Mithral

Discussing all things Ravenloft
cure
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

Adamantine, Darkwood, Mithral

Post by cure »

According to canon, do any of the following exist in Ravenloft?

* Adamantine
* Darkwood
* Mithral

And if they do, should they be available at the Player's Handbook prices, or what sort of modifiers, perhaps domain and/or cultural level modifiers, should apply?
The cure for what ails you
steveflam
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

Post by steveflam »

I'm no expert about those 3 but I think Mithral is mined underground is it not? Any dwarves mining somewhere in RL?
cure
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

Post by cure »

Sure, in the Sleeping Beast Mountains and the Moutains of Misery/Madness. But I recall no reference to mithral coming from those mines.

For some reason, I associate adamantine with meteors, and I know we have had one of those, unless of course it was only a doppelgagger plant . . .
Last edited by cure on Mon May 28, 2007 12:08 pm, edited 4 times in total.
HuManBing
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

Post by HuManBing »

The most likely source of dwarven communities will be Darkon. I don't recall seeing mithral offhand in any source material.

BUT...

If it works for your campaign, put it in there by all means! This goes especially if you plan on using an enemy that has DR against stuff (except for mithral/adamantine etc).

Just because the source books don't say it doesn't mean you must follow the sourcebooks like gospel. It's conceivable that any race, especially gnomes, humans, and dwarves, may have mined some such and refined it to metal.
steveflam
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

Post by steveflam »

Just because the source books don't say it doesn't mean you must follow the sourcebooks like gospel. It's conceivable that any race, especially gnomes, humans, and dwarves, may have mined some such and refined it to metal.
Yes and they are not likely going to share it with just anybody either!!!
NeoTiamat
Evil Genius
Evil Genius