What do I need for Ravenloft

Discussing all things Ravenloft
Dupin
Conspirator
Conspirator

What do I need for Ravenloft

Post by Dupin »

well, first of all hi to all FoS people, and congratulations for the web site. As you might see I'm a newbie at this and I have basically no idea about what books should I read to get information, and which are the campaigns for D&D for Ravenloft; I have seen none :P.
All I have read is the Core Rulebook or campaign setting, which doesn't have much information about the realms (the one it has starts like "the river goes through the Balaki mountains and blab labal" and has a map that, I don't know, was drawn by a drunk werewolf at St Patrick day.
Thank you very much and I hope you can help me
"I have never felt such frustration ; Or lack of self control ; I want you to kill me ; And dig me under, I wanna live no more"
midnightcat
Criminal Mastermind
Criminal Mastermind

Post by midnightcat »

I assume you have the Player Handbook, the Dm Guide and a Monster manual. you already have the Ravenloft campaign setting, and I suggest you get the book Secrets of the Dread Realm ( if you want to get most of the Dark Lord stats in one book). If you really want to to know about the lands get the Gazetteers. Thier are 5 of them,and they detail the lands of mist very well. Also, if you get the Gazetteers, you don't need Secrets of the dread Realm, becuase all the Dark Lords Stats are in those books. Also either Ravenloft Monster Manual comes in handy, but not needed, unless you want to run Monsters made just for Ravenloft.
Le Noir Faineant
Rafe, Agent of the Fraternity
Rafe, Agent of the Fraternity

Post by Le Noir Faineant »

If you're new to RL, you might consider getting this book here:

Domains of Dread

The best introduction IMO.

When you have decided where to set your campaign I recommend you to look for the so-called Ravenloft Gazetteers from White Wolf Publishing for a closer look at the campaign setting.