Starting a Ravenloft Campaign Needs?

Discussing all things Ravenloft
Korath
Conspirator
Conspirator

Starting a Ravenloft Campaign Needs?

Post by Korath »

I've been playing D&D for many years now, mostly forgotten realms. I really want to get involved in Ravenloft. The research I have done tells me to buy the following books:

Ravenloft PHB 3.5
Ravenloft DM guide
Ravenloft Gavetteer
Denizens of Dread

Is this a good starting package? What other recomendations are out there?

TY
D&D, reading: Robert Jordan, R.A. Salvatore, Brian Lumley, etc
Joël of the FoS

Post by Joël of the FoS »

Welcome to the mists :)

I would add Van Richten's Arsenal to this must list.

Then, if you still have money in your piggie: Legacy of Blood, VR Guide to the Walking Dead, and Dark Tales & Disturbing Legends

You can get these books at White Wolf in their "we have a year to sell our stock" 50%+ off sale.

Joël
"A full set of (game) rules is so massively complicated that the only time they were all bound together in a single volume, they underwent gravitational collapse and became a black hole" (Adams)
Coan
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

Post by Coan »

All these are good of course. But if you haven't played Ravenloft before and want to have a test run, just get the players handbook. It sets out all the ground rules and the major add ons for the game. All the other books are just extra. So I'd say just get the PHB, read through it then if you like it get some of the other products.

Now they aren't making any more you won't have to worry about falling behind in a collection -if that's a thing for you (like it is for me).
[size=75]-Wake up... wake up and smell the ashes-[/size]
Jester of the FoS
Jester of the Dark Comedy

Post by Jester of the FoS »

In order of necessity:

*Ravenloft Player's Handbook (or Campaign Setting, whichever you can find cheaper).
* One of the five Ravenloft Gazetteers (based on whichever land strikes your fancy from the RL: PHB).