[PF] Grudge Site Hazard

Discussing all roleplaying games
MichaelTumey
Evil Genius
Evil Genius

[PF] Grudge Site Hazard

Post by MichaelTumey »

Steve Russell of Rite Publishing recently released 101 Hazards and Disasters for PFRPG. Since I'm a freelancer for Rite, I get free copies of all his releases - so I got to get a closer look at hazards and disasters, which work like traps or haunts. I'm used to 1e/2e where a yellow mold was a monster, well for 3x/PF it's a hazard. Any spore spewing, madness inducing, non-moving threat to a party of adventurers fits the concept. Also Steve just released the first in a new product series called #10 Feats for the Luckshaper class - and not to get into the "Luckshaper" so much as a product consisting of 10 things, rather than 30 or 101, which makes it much easier for me to create short bits of game content, as 10 things PDF for $1.00

So I've already built my 10 hazards for Kaidan - since this will be a short supplement for the Kaidan: a Japanese Ghost Story setting. Here's one, a particularly cool one I think, but one that needs looked at for playability. If anyone has seen either the original Ju-on, or the American made The Grudge, the concept is of a site where some dark event (murder, etc.) involved such violent emotions that more than a haunt, rather a curse lingers on at that location. Here's my interpretation in PF mechanics.

Grudge Site hazard (CR Varies)
Yurei ghosts are purpose driven undead spirits created by horrid events involving great rage, terror and anguish at the moment of death. For some of these vile spirits exacting a final revenge upon it's perpetrator is enough to lay it to rest, for others the hatred is so great, it lingers, as a grudge. Anyone spending more than 1 hour within a grudge site suffers the grudge curse affliction. Even if you leave the location, the curse follows you relentlessly. Grudge sites always contain multiple haunts and undead creatures.

Grudge
Type curse; Save Will DC varies