View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:43 pm



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Stupid question 
Author Message
Agent of the Fraternity
Agent of the Fraternity
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:23 pm
Posts: 80
Post Stupid question
How do you exactly use the "rapid shot" and "many shot" feats? Can you use them simultaneously?

_________________
(>-.-)> t(-,-t)


Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:35 pm
Profile
Evil Genius
Evil Genius
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 8:02 pm
Posts: 6529
Location: New Jersey
Post Re: Stupid question
The Rules forum is for rules of the board, not the game. moving to the RPG forum.

You can't use them simultaneously because rapid shot applies to full-attacks, and manyshot is a standard action.

Suppose your BAB is +6/+1, with a Dex bonus of +4.

Normally, as a standard action, you'd fire one arrow at +10. As a full attack, you'd fire 2 arrows, +10 and +5.

With rapid shot, you get one extra attack (at the highest bonus) on the full attack, but all the attacks get a -2 penalty, so +8, +8, and +3. (rapid shot has no effect if you fire one arrow as a single action.)

With many shot, you get extra arrows on your single attack, but at a -4 penalty. So as a standard action, you'd roll once at a +6 to see if both arrows hit or both miss. (it's not possible to miss with one and hit with the other, and both go to the same enemy, who must be within 30 feat.)

_________________
"We're realistic heroes. We're not here to save the world, just nudge the world into a better place."


Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:55 pm
Profile WWW
Agent of the Fraternity
Agent of the Fraternity
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:23 pm
Posts: 80
Post Re: Stupid question
Thank you. Just when it says "one extra attack per round," it almost sounds like every round you get another attack.

_________________
(>-.-)> t(-,-t)


Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:48 pm
Profile
Evil Genius
Evil Genius
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 8:02 pm
Posts: 6529
Location: New Jersey
Post Re: Stupid question
yes, that is a bit confusing, but later it says, "You must use the full attack action to use this feat." so it's not every round, only rounds in which you do a full attack.

_________________
"We're realistic heroes. We're not here to save the world, just nudge the world into a better place."


Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:15 am
Profile WWW
Invisible Menace
Invisible Menace
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 6:46 pm
Posts: 7579
Location: Chania or Athens // Greece
Post Re: Stupid question
I think that you roll once for each arrow for manyshot. At least that's how I was playing it.
And I think you can shoot two different targets, within 30 feet of each other.

:?

I have to dig out the 3.5 SRD...

_________________
"You truly see what a person is made of, when you begin to slice into them" - Semirhage
"I am not mad, no matter what you're implying." - Litalia
My DMGuild work!


Sun Dec 05, 2010 8:39 pm
Profile
Evil Genius
Evil Genius
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 8:02 pm
Posts: 6529
Location: New Jersey
Post Re: Stupid question
alhoon wrote:
I think that you roll once for each arrow for manyshot. At least that's how I was playing it.
And I think you can shoot two different targets, within 30 feet of each other.
Sorry, incorrect on both counts, according to the SRD. "two arrows at a single opponent within 30 feet. Both arrows use the same attack roll"

Quote:
I have to dig out the 3.5 SRD...
dig out? Did you print the whole thing and bury it with your books? :) it's only a click away! :azalin:

_________________
"We're realistic heroes. We're not here to save the world, just nudge the world into a better place."


Sun Dec 05, 2010 11:02 pm
Profile WWW
Invisible Menace
Invisible Menace
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 6:46 pm
Posts: 7579
Location: Chania or Athens // Greece
Post Re: Stupid question
Yeah... actually I've a shortcut for it on my desktop. :P

That's how lazy I am.

PS. I'll still keep playing manyshot as before, the wrong way. Not that anyone plays ranger that is to count.

PS2. For "double" crossbows however, I use ScS rule (from the Great war project): Make a single attack roll, if you hit by more than 2 (I.e. you hit AC 21 vs an enemy with AC 19) you deal an extra dice of damage. I may apply that to manyshot too and reduce the penalty to -2.

_________________
"You truly see what a person is made of, when you begin to slice into them" - Semirhage
"I am not mad, no matter what you're implying." - Litalia
My DMGuild work!


Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:16 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.