Creating Pre-Conjuction Teufeldorf

Discussing all things Ravenloft
TristenC
Conspirator
Conspirator

Post by TristenC »

Originally posted in the roleplaying games forum, I realize here might be more appropriate.

Greetings all, First-time poster long time lurker of the FoS.

I have been DM-ing 2e since 1997, and Ravenloft is my poison of choice. I am currently running a PbP game on a different site (planetAD&D.com) and started up the Feast of Goblyns module. This will be about the 4th or 5th time I have run this module over the years (I have worked out lots of kinks and stuff) but one thing I have never been able to find or take the time to do is to flesh out Teufeldorf. Every time I have run this module in the past the PCs want to save Dominiani’s ‘patients’ and return them home, then check the place out (I have always had lots of curious PCs). I’ve blown it off, hem and hawed around it, and even (one time) created a totally crap-tastic version that I’m ashamed to have even scribbled down [burned those later].

Well, it’s time.

I am going to derive Pre-Conjunction Teufeldorf as close to Canon as possible. I will include a map and some mid-level detail (shops, houses for those saved offering shelter, etc). The group I have now is just starting into the adventure, so I have plenty of time to do this right.

Sources:
Realm of Terror: Black Box (really only says it’s a town in Gundar, population 4,000 and outlines Gundarakan folk in general.)
RA 1: Feast of Goblyns (for location of the town/city itself)
Domains of Dread: for a little info about the people (tucked into the Barovia entry)

I have read up on Rafael’s Teufeldorf Thread, and a few other ones on this site.

-What additional canon (or canon-esque like the Book of Secrets) sources and references should I use?
-Anyone know of a good customizable city/town map generator? Otherwise I may do it by hand with the world-builder’s guide