None of the above
4%

Total votes: 24

Kel-nage
Criminal Mastermind
Criminal Mastermind

A FoS Catalogue?

Post by Kel-nage »

It would seem the Kargatane site is slowly dying (moreso than it had already). From what I can see, something/someone has broken the perl support on the SotK site (in fact, it would seem to me that someone had deleted the cgi-bin folder from the site).

Which of course has got me thinking. Could the FoS start their own catalogue? I'd be more than willing to help with the background mechanics (I'm a programmer by day and have quite a bit of experience with PHP). Obvious limitations would be the space such a thing would take up and I have no idea about your hosting situation, so it's just a suggestion.

The alternative would be to use Wiki software to create our own little knowledge base of Ravenloft. Obviously we'd have to be wary of legal limitations in place from WotC, but I think it could work. Hell, if you're interested but don't have the space/database capabilities, I'd host the Wiki on my own site. Clearly the Wiki couldn't be too detailed, otherwise we'd have the lawyers knocking on our doors, however, it would give us the base to work on, saving us from "re-discovering the wheel".

Any thoughts?

[Edit] Removed the part about copying the existing articles, they are probably too detailed for the Ravenloft Wiki.
Le Noir Faineant
Rafe, Agent of the Fraternity
Rafe, Agent of the Fraternity

Post by Le Noir Faineant »

I'd suggest an Ecyclopedia Ravenloftia instead, like the famous *Zavodex* that was done for Greyhawk. - No explanations, just a big index.

:)
Kel-nage
Criminal Mastermind
Criminal Mastermind

Post by Kel-nage »

Yeah, that's what I mean really. And that could be applied to the Wiki template quite easily. I'm going to install it into my user area and then add a few examples, so you can see how it'd work.
Joël of the FoS

Post by Joël of the FoS »